Staff Reporter

HYDERABAD: In all likelihood, Hyderabad First Citizen and Mayor Teegala Krishna Reddy will take over as the new ex-officio Chairman of the Standing Committee of the MCH next month when the current panel's term ends. The MCH on Monday announced election to offices of chairpersons of the 10 ward committees who would also double up as members of the Standing Committee at the respective ward offices on February 4 at 11.30 a.m. However, they cannot elect a chairperson from among themselves as they did for the last four years and instead, Mr. Krishna Reddy will preside over the committee proceedings for the final year because of the new powers vested on Mayors by the Government last year.

Congress corporator D. Mohan completes his one-year term as the Standing Committee Chairman next month as also nine other wards committees' chairpersons and also members. Majlis-Congress combine enjoy a majority in the 100-member-elected council of the MCH and they share the powerful Chairman of Standing Committee post every alternate year. The Government last year issued an order stating that all Mayors will become ex-officio Chairpersons of Standing Committees of their respective urban local bodies while abolishing a separate post of Standing Committee Chairperson.