The Telugu Desam Party (TDP) will picket all electricity sub stations and stage dharnas at mandal head quarters in Adilabad district on April 6 demanding roll back of power charges. The party issued an appeal to farmers to participate in the agitation programme in large numbers. At a press conference here on Friday, Adilabad MP Ramesh Rathod, Mudhole MLA S. Venugopalachary and Adilabad MLA Jogu Ramanna criticised the government for increasing electricity charges.

On the one hand government functionaries were looting the State through corruption and on the other the government was burdening the poor by increasing rates of power.

The TDP leaders demanded disqualification of Banswada MLA Pocharam Srinivas Reddy who had voted for Telangana Rashtra Samiti (TRS) candidate in the recent MLC elections. The TDP MLA had violated the party whip and hence attracts disqualification, they maintained.

Mr. Ramanna branded TRS president K. Chandrashekhar Rao as a Congress agent.

He questioned the silence of Mr. Chandrashekhar Rao on the separate Telangana agitation.