Special Correspondent

Bickering among Kadapa Telugu Desam Party leaders out in the open

‘Rivals' resolve to open separate TDP office

Seek intervention of party high command

KADAPA: The internal bickering among Telugu Desam Party leaders in Kadapa Assembly constituency seems to be deepening with party's constituency in-charge K. Sivananda Reddy dropping his detractors from the committee announced last month. The ‘rivals', however, declared their resolve to open a separate TDP office in Kadapa by raising funds from party workers, if needed.

Accusing TDP State secretary S. Goverdhan Reddy, Telugu Rythu State secretary G. Lakshmi Reddy, district TDP general secretary, M. Venkataswamy Reddy and district TDP vice-president S. Subhan Basha -- leaders of a rival group -- of not taking part in the party's membership drive and holding parallel programmes lowering the party prestige -- Mr. Sivananda Reddy reshuffled the Kadapa constituency committee by dropping them and their supporters.


TDP MLC M. Venkatasiva Reddy, TDP State Minority Cell chairman V.S. Ameer Babu, former municipal chairman S. Harindranath and six others were appointed honorary cooption members of the Kadapa constituency.

M. Balakrishna Yadav was appointed president of the new city committee, Shaik Ansar Basha as general secretary and Chalama Reddy as official spokesman. Four vice-presidents, four organising secretaries, six secretaries, six executive members and a publicity secretary were announced by Mr. Sivananda Reddy.

Mr. Reddy also announced the party's 12 frontal organisations including Telugu Yuvatha, Telugu Mahila, Telugu Rythu, Telugu Nadu Students Federation, TNTUC and Graduates Cell.

Meanwhile, the four leaders opposed to Mr. Sivananda Reddy picked holes in the committee stating that the kin of some leaders were active in other political parties. They sought the intervention of party high command to resolve the issue. They accused some party leaders of favouring sycophants.