The Telugu Desam seemed to have gained a slightly upper hand in the first phase of elections to the Primary Agricultural Cooperative Societies (PACS) held on Thursday by winning 32 societies out of 86 societies. Ruling Congress managed to win 25 societies, while YSR Congress Party put up a decent show by winning 16 seats.

The Desam performed well in Pedakurapadu, Tadikonda constituencies , while Congress fared well in Narsaraopet, which is the home turf of Cooperation Minister Kasu Krishna Reddy.

Among the prominent losers were, Allu Narasimha Reddy, vice chairman of District Cooperative Central Bank, a close follower of Rural Development Minister.

The Congress also lost in Gurazala Constituency, while former MLA Kurri Punna Reddy, a strong contender for DCCB Chairman post, won from Sirigurapadu society.