Congress leaders jubilant over winning majority seats

The Telugu Desam Party seems to have lost its ground if the defeat in the first phase of cooperative elections held on Thursday is any indication.

After completion of counting, the ruling Congress won 15 Primary Agricultural Cooperative Societies, the YSR Congress Party 9, and the Telugu Desam Party 4.

The election was unanimous in two places and the process in Kotabommali was postponed.

The TDP failed in its strategy because of lack of coordination among party leaders. The party won L.N. Peta, Rajam, Krishnapuram, and Ponduru societies.

On the other hand, Congress leaders were jubilant over winning majority seats despite the challenge posed by the YSR Congress Party in the Palakonda division.

District Congress president and DCCB vice-chairman N. Narendra Yadav hoped the party would continue its winning streak in the second phase too to be conducted on February 5. Elections to 20 societies are scheduled to be held in the second round.

Ministers — Kondru Murali Mohan and Satrucharla Vijayarama Raju — could not ensure victory for the ruling party in their respective constituencies such as Rajam and Patapatnam.

Former Zilla Parishad chairperson Palavalasa Rajasekharam ensured the victory of the YSR Congress Party in places such as Sivvam, Veeraghattam, Palakonda.

“We could have won more seats, but the party did not have network in many rural areas. However, we are happy to occupy second place, as cooperative election always favour the ruling party,” he added.

Congress has bagged 33 PACS out of elections to 46 held, including 11 unanimous, TDP got eight, and YSRCP one, on Friday.

Elections to presidents and vice-presidents for four societies have been put off to Saturday due to lack of quorum, according to an official sources.

  • Congress wins 15, YSR Congress Party 9, and Telugu Desam Party 4

  • Ministers fail to ensure victory for ruling party in their constituencies