Special Correspondent

Talks on with CPI(M); final list today

VISAKHAPATNAM: The Telugu Desam Party on Thursday released its first list of candidates for the February 19 GVMC elections.

The list contained names of candidates for 24 of 72 divisions.

The rest would be finalised after having another round of discussion with CPI(M) late on Thursday evening, said party's senior leader Kadiyam Srihari at a press conference he addressed along with some other senior TDP leaders.

CPI(M) sought 24 divisions and TDP decided not to announce its candidates for these wards in its first list in view of the talks. TDP city president C.M.A. Zaheer Ahmed later said that the final list would be announced on Friday morning.


Those who failed to secure the party ticket could not hide their anger and disappointment.

A senior party leader Nookalamma of 10th division was seen angrily questioning the party leaders about denying her ticket while V. Raghavamma of the 33rd division and her supporters were shouting in anguish at the leaders. She accused city leaders of selling away party tickets. Ms. Raghavamma said she was active in the party for the last 25 years but the ticket for her division was given to the daughter-in-law of the party's division president. She was married only three months ago and was not known to any one in the division, Ms. Raghavamma said. Former councillor of Gajuwaka Municipality (which was merged into the GVMC) and daughter of former MLA Palla Simhachalam, Pulicherla Rajeswari alleged that some persons had launched a bad propaganda against her in Hyderabad party office in a bid to deny her ticket. However, the party had not yet announced the candidate for the 62nd division sought by Ms. Rajeswari.

"The candidates have been selected in the most democratic manner, taking into consideration the opinion of party workers of each division, popularity and merit of the candidates and the service rendered by them to the party," Mr. Srihari said.