Special Correspondent

Leaders in Kadapa to tour all the mandals

TDP blames Sonia Gandhi for the prevailing unrest in State

Proddatur MLA asks Congress leaders to put pressure on her for an amicable solution

KADAPA: Telugu Desam’s Kadapa district executive meeting on Wednesday evening adopted a resolution to urge party president N. Chandrababu Naidu to express his support to the united Andhra movement.

Briefing newsmen on the decision after the meeting, Proddatur MLA and district party convenor M. Linga Reddy said the meeting also adopted a resolution to ensure that senior district party leaders tour all the mandals in the district and enlighten people that Congress president Sonia Gandhi was responsible for the prevailing unrest.

The resignations of Congress MPs, MLAs and MLCs has led to a political crisis, but the Ministers in the Union and State Cabinets should resign as it would lead to a Constitutional crisis, forcing the Congress high command to give up the bifurcation of the State, Mr. Linga Reddy stated. He termed Ms. Sonia Gandhi’s pro-Telangana decision as hasty and arbitrary, without consulting the leaders and people of Rayalaseema and coastal Andhra.

TRS president K. Chandrasekhar Rao mooted hunger strike after a truce to enter into a tie-up with Congress, the MLA alleged. Under the conspiracy, KCR was to be made PCC chief at the moment and Chief Minister of Telangana subsequently, he alleged.

Mr. Linga Reddy demanded that the Congress MPs, MLAs and MLCs who resigned, to pressure Ms. Sonia Gandhi seeking an amicable solution to the issue, rather than stage protests and rallies, to dupe the people.

He deplored the consecutive bandhs called for the last five days posing hardships on the people. A bandh should be the last resort, he said.

Congress high command should hold discussions with leaders of all parties and resolve the issue, former Minister P. Ramasubba Reddy demanded.

Ms. Gandhi was emboldened to take a unilateral decision on Telangana as all Congress leaders promised to abide her decision in finalising the CLP leadership, he said.

Former MLA S. Raghurami Reddy questioned the commitment of the Ministers who had earlier resigned but attended a Cabinet meeting . There was no demand for separate Telangana in four to five Telangana districts, the TDP leaders asserted.

Former MLA K. Madanmohan Reddy and party leaders G. Lakshmi Reddy, S. Goverdhan Reddy, Ameer Babu, G. Sakunthalamma, S. Harindranath and Jilani Basha participated.