Staff Reporter

ANANTAPUR: M. Venkatasiva Reddy of the TDP was on Tuesday night declared elected as MLC from Rayalaseema West graduates' constituency comprising Anantapur, Kurnool and Kadapa districts. He defeated his nearest CPI rival V. Ajaykumar by a slender margin of 1,386 votes.

His election was declared after the elimination of other contestants in the counting of second preference votes and getting the permission from the Election Commission, as even the leading candidate was well short of the quota or threshold votes, more than 50 per cent of valid polled votes.

The counting of votes took almost 60 hours and at the end of elimination process Mr. Venkatasiva Reddy secured 28,824 votes against 27,438 by Mr. Ajaykumar. G. Nagaraju was in the third place with 14,014 votes.

Against the requirement of 46,364 quota or threshold votes Mr. Venkatasiva Reddy, Mr. Ajaykumar and Mr. Nagaraju had polled 15,914, 13,734 and 8,766 first preference votes. Returning Officer and district Collector D. Kadmiel presented the declaration form to Mr. Venkatasiva Reddy in the night.