Congress directors withdraw party candidate and pledge support to TDP rebel

The Telugu Desam Party has bagged the District Cooperative Central Bank chairman post in the election held amid tense situation here on Wednesday.

The simmering rivalry between the two groups of the TDP came to the fore on the eve of the election.

TDP candidate M. Vijaya Babu, considered to be a staunch follower of Khammam MLA Tummala Nageswara Rao, was elected the DCCB Chairman.

Another strong contender for the post B. Ramesh Babu, a follower of Khammam MP Nama Nageswara Rao, staked claim for the coveted post but in vain. T. Brahmaiah, another aspirant, entered the fray as a rebel candidate at the last minute, causing commotion among the TDP district leaders.

In an unexpected twist, the Congress directors pledged their support to Mr. Brahmaiah by withdrawing their candidate for the Chairman’s post aback by the move, the TDP senior leaders persuaded its directors to remain united and ensure the victory of the party candidate as the DCCB chief. TDP district president K. Koteswara Rao’s intervention worked out and the party nominee Mr. Vijaya Babu emerged triumphant.

Mr. Vijaya Babu defeated the “rebel” candidate Mr. Brahmaiah by a margin of seven votes. He secured 14 votes and Mr. Brahmaiah seven, which included six votes of the directors of the Congress. CPI district secretary B. Hemantha Rao was elected DCCB vice-chairman with the support of the TDP.

Earlier, TDP candidate A. Anjaiah was elected Chairman of the District Cooperative Marketing Society.

Meanwhile, unidentified persons set ablaze the flex banners with pictures of TDP senior leaders near the DCCB, Jubilee Club, and a few other places in the town.

  • TDP candidate Vijaya Babu defeats party ‘rebel’ Brahmaiah by a margin of seven votes

  • CPI district secretary B. Hemantha Rao elected DCCB vice-chairman with TDP’s support