‘T’ Legislature to open its first chapter today

Ravi Reddy
print   ·   T  T  

Assembly and Council will hold their maiden sitting in the 29th State

A new chapter in the history of Telangana Legislature will open on Monday as the Assembly and the Council will hold their maiden sitting after creation of the 29th State of Indian Union.

Pro Tem speaker

Post bifurcation, the Telangana Legislature has been convened to meet from Monday with Council vice-chairman Nethi Vidyasagar and senior most member of the Assembly K. Jana Reddy being sworn in as the Chairman and Assembly Pro Tem speaker respectively by the Governor E. S. L. Narasimhan at Raj Bhavan at 9.15 am.

Both would then proceed to the Assembly to administer oath to the newly elected MLAs from 11 a.m. onwards. Interestingly, the new Assembly building has been allocated to accommodate the Telangana members while the old building has been earmarked for residuary AP.

Legislative Affairs Minister T. Harish Rao has appealed to all other parties to ensure unanimous election of the Speaker and Deputy Speaker. Election of the Speaker and the Deputy Speaker would take place on Tuesday.

Bhupalpalli MLA S. Madhusudana Chary is likely to be the Speaker nominee while name of Medak MLA Padma Devender Reddy is under consideration for the Deputy Speaker’s post. Governor would address the joint session of the two Houses on June 11. The House would take up motion of thanks to Governor’s address on June 12 and 13 after which the session would conclude.

Consequent to the division of the State, the strength of Telangana Assembly has come down to 119 with the TRS winning 63 seats followed by Congress 21, TDP-BJP- 20, MIM – seven, YSR Congress – three, BSP – two and CPI, CPI (M) and others – three. Vice-chairman Nethi Vidyasagar will take over as Chairman of the 40-member Legislative Council in renovated Jubilee Hall on Public Gardens. All the sitting members of the Upper House would be administered oath again on Monday. Congress is the largest party in the Council with 17 members followed by TDP – seven, TRS - four, MIM – two, independents two and CPI – one. There are seven vacancies. Incidentally, TRS member of the Upper House Mohammed Mahmood Ali is the Deputy Chief Minister. Home Minister Naini Narasimha Reddy will be made a member of Council from the Governor’s quota.

The Hindu presents the all-new Young World



Recent Article in ANDHRA PRADESH

‘Post OSD for new rly. zone in A. P.’

There is an urgent need to post an OSD (Officer on Special Duty) for the proposed new railway zone in Andhra Pradesh.The OSD can b... »