Staff Reporter

YSR, on a whirlwind tour, inaugurates municipal building and tourism park

SRIKAKULAM: Itchapuram, the border town of north coastal Andhra, where political parties are known to either launch or end their campaigns, once again buzzed with activity on Sunday with Chief Minister Y.S. Rajasekhara Reddy choosing to start his one-day whirlwind visit of the district from the town.

Dr. Reddy, who arrived at around 11.30 a.m. by a helicopter, first inaugurated the new municipality building and also a tourism park.

He later reached the venue of Indiramma Sambaralu and addressed a huge gathering. Obviously elated at the massive response, Dr. Reddy said that he had come to convey his gratitude to the people who patronised his government.

“The wide and varied welfare and developmental schemes being implemented in the State are unique in the country and several governments are trying to emulate the State,” he claimed.

A comparison

Drawing a comparison with the previous government, Dr. Reddy stated that while the Telugu Desam Party took up construction of only 400 to 500 houses in each constituency, the Congress Government undertook construction of 60,000 houses under Indiramma scheme in Itchapuram Assembly constituency alone.

Referring to the Arogyasri scheme, Dr. Reddy said that it was a boon to poor people who had no access to corporate medical treatment.

Having a dig at parties opposing the coastal corridor project, Dr. Reddy explained that the project did not require any land. It was basically a road-laying project linking the coastal roads from Tada in Nellore district to Itchapuram in Srikakulam district, he added. “If you do not want roads, we will withdraw the project,” he said. Currently, the project is be being taken up only from Kakinada to Visakhapatnam, he added.

The Chief Minister promised to consider ST status for Bentu Oriya caste saying that the matter would be placed before the Tribal Research Centre.

Earlier, Revenue Minister Dharmana Prasada Rao also spoke. Local MLA Naresh Kumar Agarwal presided. Housing Minister B. Satyanarayana and district Collector N. Srikanth were also present.