Staff Reporter

Srikakulam: With the Praja Rajyam Party (PRP) announcing its candidates for the 10 Assembly constituencies and the lone Lok Sabha seat of Srikakulam, the stage is set for a triangular fight between the Congress, the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) and the PRP.

The PRP has nominated Tammineni Seetharam as its candidate for the Amudalavalasa Assembly constituency. Formerly a senior leader of the TDP, Mr. Seetharam has been representing the seat since the inception of the TDP.

In the previous election, he, however, unsuccessfully contested against Congress candidate Boddepalli Satyavathi.

Mr. Seetharam is now pitted against his old rival Ms. Satyavathi as well as Kona Ravi of the TDP, who was once his follower.

Other candidates

Kimidi Kalavenkata Rao, also a senior legislator who defected to the PRP from the TDP, has been nominated for the Etcherla constituency. Earlier, he represented the Unukuru Assembly constituency, which has been reconstituted as Rajam constituency and reserved for SCs in the delimitation exercise.

Etcherla is a constituency once nourished by Pratibha Bharathi of the TDP.

In may be noted here that Gorle Haribabu, MLC, who strived in vain for the PRP ticket from Etcherla, quit the party in protest.

The PRP is fielding Kornu Pratap of the Santhiniketan Educational group for the Srikakulam constituency. The aspirants for the constituency included Shintu Sudhakar, Varudu Kalyani, P.J. Naidu and T. Mohini. For the Pathapatnam constituency, Palavasa Karunakar has been nominated as the candidate.

Kalamata Mohana Rao, sitting MLA of Pathapatnam, who quit the TDP and joined the PRP due to a tussle over the same seat between himself and his son, however, was not nominated much to his disappointment.

The party has nominated Duvvada Sreenivas for the Tekkali constituency, Dola Jagan, party district convener, for the Narasannapeta constituency.