Staff Reporter

Body formed under aegis of JNNURM

HYDERABAD: The Government has mooted constitution of a 60-member Metropolitan Planning Committee (MPC) for Hyderabad for preparing the draft developmental plan and also to coordinate the plans made by urban local bodies. Two-thirds of members of the committee are to be elected members of municipalities and chairpersons of panchayats. MPs and MLAs of the region shall be permanent special invitees to its meetings.

Chairpersons of urban local bodies shall be permanent special invitees to the MPC meetings if they are not elected as its members. Formation of MPC is part of the 74th Constitutional amendment but not yet implemented in the State.

Reforms package

The Government has been forced to form the body as part of the compulsory urban reforms package proposed for garnering funds under the Jawaharlal Nehru National Urban Renewal Mission. The Government shall appoint the chairperson, vice-chairperson and others not elected by the MPC and each elected member will hold office for a term of five years from the date of election.

While the Chief Minister could be the chairperson of Hyderabad MPC, Minister for Municipal Administration could be the vice-chairperson. The latter is also recommended to be the chairperson for Vijayawada MPC and Visakhapatnam MPC, which are to have 45 members each.

The Minister from the respective metropolitan area is to be nominated as vice-chairperson of Vijayawada and Visakhapatnam MPCs. The State Election Commission may conduct elections to the MPC.