Three legislators likely to join YSRC and three the TDP

The ruling Congress is likely to face a big jolt in East Godavari district as six of its MLAs are ready to shift loyalties to the TDP and YSR Congress soon. Minister in Kiran Kumar Reddy’s Cabinet Pinipe Viswaroop, whose resignation was accepted by the Governor and Speaker on Saturday, will be joining YSRC and he is assured of Parliament ticket from Amalapuram constituency by party founder Y.S. Jaganmohan Reddy.

Political equations in East Godavari took sudden change in the two days after Mr. Jaganmohan Reddy’s release from jail and three ruling party MLAs were said to have contacted him. Ponnada Satish (Mummidivaram) Rapaka Varaprasad (Razole) and Pamula Rajeswari, who is also member of TTD Board from P. Gannavaram, were ready to follow Mr. Pinipe Viswaroop. However, it is learnt that Mr. Rapaka was given clearance by Mr. Jaganmohan Reddy, but there was no assurance of ticket in coming election, but some Corporation or MLC ticket may be given in the near future. The other two were asked to wait for some time and not given any kind of assurance, the sources added.

Another MLA N. Sesha Reddy from Anaparthi, whose name was reported to be joining the YSRC, was said to have not materialized.

Thota Trimurthulu, who was elected in the by-election from Ramachandrapuram on Congress ticket, and Bandaru Satyananda Rao from Kothapeta constituency are trying for re-entry into the TDP. Both had left the TDP during last elections and joined the erstwhile Praja Rajyam after which the TDP expelled them for life time.

Avanthi Srinivas, another MLA from Bhimili, Visakhapatnam district, is also trying to jump into the TDP and has contacted his friend Bandaru Satyananda Rao and Trimurthulu in this direction. However, TDP president N. Chandrababu Naidu is presently not showing any interest on welcoming the three MLAs into his party again, as they have “backstabbed” the party at a crucial juncture.

G.V. Harsha Kumar, who represents Amalapuram constituency in the Lok Sabha, is considering different options. It is said that he will contest from one of the Assembly constituencies in Konaseema in coming elections and may be a strong Dalit contender for the Chief Minister’s post after bifurcation.