Ministers from Seemandhra region faulted the Centre for moving ahead with the bifurcation of the State by constituting the Group of Ministers, without accommodating Ministers from Andhra Pradesh.

Minister for Primary Education S. Sailajanath opposed the constitution of the GoM while Ministers E. Pratap Reddy and Kasu Venkatakrishna Reddy raised questions about its composition as key ministries of irrigation, power and human resource development had been ignored.

“We oppose the Group of Ministers itself as the Seemandhra Congress leaders are firmly against division of the State,” Dr. Sailajanath said.

Panel formed

He said a committee comprising 17 Ministers and senior leaders from Seemandhra region had been constituted with the consent of the APCC president Botcha Satyanarayana to coordinate activities taken up by the activists and Congress leaders against division of the State.

‘Resignations with Chief Minister’

Mr. Pratap Reddy and Mr. Krishna Reddy said the GoM without representatives from the key ministries would harm the interests of all sections, including farmers, students and employees.

They asserted that they had handed over their resignations to Chief Minister N. Kiran Kumar Reddy, but the latter was insisting on continuation in the posts till the issue was referred to the Assembly.

‘Kiran firm’

The Chief Minister was firm that any decision on the course that should be adopted should be taken only after defeating the resolution in the Assembly. Asked about doubts over whether voting would be allowed on the resolution, Mr. Pratap Reddy said there would be debate wherein all the members would be allowed to express their views.


“We will express our dissent which will be incorporated when the resolution in sent back to the Centre,” he said.