Staff Reporter

Talks between Congress, CPI inconclusive; CPI (M) unwilling to sail with TDP

ANANTAPUR: The deadlock over seat sharing understanding between CPI and Congress in the district continued through Wednesday while the talks for an adjustment between CPI (M) and TDP failed to take off amid the speculation that the CPI (M) district leadership was still interested in going along with the Congress instead of TDP.

The CPI district leadership has made it clear to the Congress negotiators -- Panchayat Raj Minister J.C. Diwakar Reddy and Anantapur MP A. Venkatarami Reddy -- that they settle for 5 ZPTC and 3 MPP seats. "The ball is in Congress court now. Its fine if they agree to our proposal, if not we will go it at alone as there is no clash in the choice of seats between CPI and CPI (M)," CPI leaders M.V. Ramana and K. Ramakrishna said.

The CPI had initially staked claim for contesting 10 ZPTC and 77 MPTC posts and also 5 MPP posts. But, the number was slashed to 5 ZPTCs and 3 MPPs. The number of MPTCs could be sorted out if the Congress agrees on ZPTC and MPP seats, they said. The CPI leaders made it clear that they would not get in touch with Congress leaders any more, until the ruling party agreed for their "lowest bid".

The CPI is likely to select candidates for 10 ZPTC and 77 MPTC seats at the district executive meeting scheduled on Thursday. All the selected candidates would start filing nomination papers, if the Congress failed to accept their proposal by Thursday night, the CPI leaders said. Meanwhile, the district leadership of CPI (M) is learnt to be unwilling to talk to the TDP, as a key party leader has a running rivalry with TDP legislator of Uravakonda. The two families are at loggerhead for about four decades now. Party legislator from Kurnool M.A. Gaffoor and APRS State Secretary S. Malla Reddy were in town to sort out the issue within the party.

The CPI (M) is unlikely to take up talks with TDP until its district leaders agree for the understanding.

In all, 100 nominations were filed for 797 MPTC seats and 17 papers were filed for 63 ZPTC seats in the district till Wednesday.