Staff Reporter

VISAKHAPATNAM: The Visakhapatnam Steel and Cement Dealers Association at its general body meeting here on Sunday elected the following persons as executive body members for 2006-08: honorary president - Paluri Narayana Murthy; president - K. Ganesh; general secretary - N. Venkateswara Rao; vice-presidents - B. Atchuta Rao and four others; treasurer - M. Trinadha Rao; co-treasurer - M. Parasurama Raju; joint secretaries - Bh. Mukundu and seven others and 11 as executive committee members.

Later in the evening, the association gave away scholarships to meritorious poor students as part of its sixth anniversary celebrations.

Visakhapatnam Urban Development Authority Chairman P.S.N. Raju, Visakhapatnam - I MLA Dronamraju Srnivasa Rao and Chodavaram MLA Ganta Srinivasa Rao, who participated, lauded the gesture.

The highlight was a grand musical concert by noted playback singer Vani Jairam.