SCB polls: Congressmen bag three wards

print   ·   T  T  
CLEAN SWEEP: A supporter combs the hair of Jampanna Pratap, who won from ward I on Monday. His election symbol was comb. PHOTO:SATISH. H.
CLEAN SWEEP: A supporter combs the hair of Jampanna Pratap, who won from ward I on Monday. His election symbol was comb. PHOTO:SATISH. H.

Staff Reporter

Complete announcement of results delayed in wake of controversy in ward VI

HYDERABAD: A complete announcement of results of the elections to the Secunderabad Cantonment Board were delayed on Monday after the outcome in one of the wards snowballed into a controversy.

In the officially declared results, Congress-backed candidates won three out of the seven wards of the Secunderabad Cantonment Board (SCB), here on Monday, while those supported by the Telangana Rashtra Samiti, Telugu Desam Party, Bharatiya Janata Party bagged one ward each.

Four of the winners are celebrating victory for the third consecutive time while Nawab Mahmood Khan from Ward III, contesting his ninth election since 1967, lost for the first time, that too by a mere margin of 29 votes to TRS-backed B. Prabhakar.

However, Nawab did not wait for the official announcement and stomped out of the PG College counting centre.

Prabhakar thus became the first TRS representative in the Cantonment.


Controversy reared its head when TRS-supported E. Manjula Reddy, who reportedly won from Ward VI, to become the first woman member of the SCB, was kept waiting for an official declaration in the early hours of Tuesday as her opponents demanded recounting.

According to the latest information, the recounting is being held.

Among other results, the existing Varied Board's lone nominated civilian member Jampanna Pratap (5,678 votes) won from Ward I with a majority of 1,682 votes.

Nearest rival

Pratap, whose campaigners included Congress MP Sarvey Satyanarayana and veteran leader Sarojini Pulla Reddy, had M. Amarender Reddy (3,996 votes), as his nearest rival.

Reddy had prominent Congress leader and Khairatabad MLA P. Janardhana Reddy hitting the campaign trail.

The keenly watched battle between Congress strongman P. Gowri Shankar (6,489) and TDP's `Young Turk' J. Ramakrishna (4,126 votes) in Ward V had its moments for the gallery before the former won by 2,363 votes.

Ward II, where tense moments were witnessed following arguments between supporters, had BJP's B. Laxman (3,666) winning by 425 votes over S. Keshava Reddy of the Congress.

Ward IV, where TDP's P.Venkat Rao was pitted against Congress candidate D.B. Devender saw the former claiming a majority of 2,323 votes over Devender's 1,947.

Rao had won from the same ward in 1997, but on a BJP ticket.

Ward VII had P.N. Madhuker (2,798) of Congress registering a comfortable win over TDP-supported candidate C.Venugopal Reddy(1,855).



Recent Article in ANDHRA PRADESH

‘Vayyali Seva,’ highlight of Srirama Navami fete in Chittoor

‘Vayyali Seva’, a unique devotional dance, remained highlight of the ongoing annual 12-day Srirama Navami Brahmotsavams of Lord Rama temp... »