Bharatiya Jan Sangh, former avatar of BJP, entered the political arena of Mahabubnagar first in 1958

The dream has come true after 45 years for activists of the Sangh Parivar in Mahabubnagar Assembly constituency with the sensational victory of BJP candidate Yennam Srinivas Reddy in the by-election.

Bharatiya Jan Sangh, the former avatar of Bhartiya Janata Party, entered the political arena of Mahabubnagar first in 1958 with constitution of district unit under the presidentship of late Muralidhar Reddy Deshmukh and in the 1962 general elections socialist party candidate K. Ram Reddy won the election with support of BJS in Mahabubnagar Assembly election.

In 1967, BJS fielded S. Rajeshwar Reddy, former Samithi president as its candidate. He secured around 6,500 votes. In 1972 elections that were held after 1969 Telangana agitation again S. Rajeshwar Reddy was fielded by BJS in which he again got defeated with a slender margin of 2,200 votes in the hands of Congress candidate Ibrahim Ali Ansari.

The BJS merged into newly formed Janata Party along with some anti-Congress parties like Socialist, Swatantra in 1977. S. Rajeshwar Reddy, who was jailed under MISA during national emergency imposed by Indira Gandhi again aspired to contest in 1978 Assembly election as former BJS faction candidate but K.K Reddy a Congress (R) leader was nominated by Janata Party who lost the election.

In 1980 BJS faction in Janata Party formed a new party with the name Bharatiya Janata Party and it fielded Buruju Rajender Reddy as its candidate in 1983 elections from Mahabubnagar Assembly segment in which he secured 14,500 votes.

In 1996 election N. Rajeshwar Reddy with whose death led to the by-election contested as BJP candidate and lost the election by securing 15,454 voters.

Rajeshwar Reddy who continued in the party up to 2008, joined Praja Rajyam but as he could not get the party ticket, he contested 2009 election as independent candidate from Mahabubnagar constituency. Though BJP fielded Padmaja Reddy as its candidate, a majority of BJP supporters who had close association and sympathy with Rajeshwar Reddy voted for him due to which Padmaja Reddy secured only 1600 votes in the election to lose her deposit.

With the sudden demise of N. Rajeshwar Reddy the BJP offered to field his widow Vijaya Laxmi in by-election as either BJP candidate or give support if contested as independent. But she was not ready for both and unsuccessfully aspired for the Congress ticket.

When the TRS announced its candidate Syed Ibrahim for the by-election allegedly unilaterally, the Telangana political JAC partner BJP fielded Yennam Srinivas Reddy as its candidate. Taking advantage of internal squabbles of the TRS and other weak points, the BJP emerged victorious realising it 45-year long dream of Sangh Parivar to capture Mahabubnagar Assembly segment.

  • Telangana Rashtra Samiti announced its candidate for the recent by-election unilaterally

  • Bharatiya Janata Party forced to field its candidate Srinivas Reddy, who won the by-poll