VIJAYAWADA: P. Satish, Returning Officer for the by-election to the 44th municipal division scheduled to be held on September 16, convened a meeting with the candidates in fray on Saturday and made it clear to them that they would have to strictly follow the expenditure limit of Rs.50,000 fixed by the State Election Commission.

The candidates would also have to submit from time to time the details of the expenditure made by them, failing which action could be initiated against them, he said.

Listing the dos and don’ts enshrined in the model code and other election rules, Mr. Satish said that candidates should not in any way induce the voters and should also desist from invoking caste, community and other such sentiments.

Election campaign should not be carried out on the premises of any place of worship and government office.

Candidates should take a letter of consent from the owners of private property for displaying any poster or other publicity material.

Mr. Satish said that polling would be held from 7 a.m. to 5 p.m.

As many as eight candidates were in fray for the by-election. The candidates in fray are, Kandula Subrahmanyam (Communist Party of India), Armugam Karini Subrahmanyam (Bharatiya Janata Party), Pulipaka Praveen Kumar (Rashtriya Janata Dal), Yadhala Srinivasa Rao (Indian National Congress), Sunkara Kishore Babu (Praja Rajyam Party), Bandlamuri Murali Krishna (Lok Satta Party), Gurivindapalli Agaman Rao (Independent) and Madu Rambabu (Independent).

Assistant Returning Officer Velaga Joshi, Inspector of Police Shravan Kumar and some contesting candidates attended the meeting.