The government sanctioned Rs.144 crore for augmenting drinking water supply and improving sanitation in Kadapa district, Minister for Minority Welfare Mohd. Ahmedullah said on Saturday.

Speaking in a meeting to finalise proposals for schemes under District Water and Sanitation Mission and A.P. Rural Water Supply and Sanitation Project, presided over by ZP chairperson D. Jyothi Reddy in the old ZP meeting hall, the Minister said six districts in the State were sanctioned Rs.864 crore including the State government's contribution of Rs.123 crore and people's contribution of Rs.21 crore. A sum of Rs. 44 crore was expected, he said and wanted drinking water works taken up on priority.

Sanitation mission

Collector Shashi Bhushan Kumar said the District Sanitation Mission was launched in 2003. A sum of Rs.100 crore was released and of it, Rs.32 crore was sanctioned for 505 villages and Rs.68 crore for 846 habitations, he said. The meeting resolved to grant maximum funds to Rayachoti, which was facing acute drinking water scarcity for years. He wanted awareness created among self help groups and voluntary organisations.

SC/ST families should pay Rs.250 each and others Rs.500 each in villages facing drinking water paucity, he said.

The Collector announced sanction of Rs. 90 lakh to Palagiri in Kamalapuram constituency, Rs. 10 lakh each to Diguva Venkatareddipalle in Kodur segment and Sakibanda in Rayachoti segment, Rs. 8 lakh to Kothagollapalle and Rs. 5 lakh to Ammoripalle, both in Rajampet segment and Rs. 7 lakh to Ganjikunta in Mydukur segment.

Congress MLA of Rayachoti G. Srikanth Reddy wanted works taken up expeditiously in Rayachoti segment as several villages faced drinking water problem.

Telugu Desam MLA of Proddatur M. Linga Reddy wanted work proposals sent without insisting on people's contribution. Rajampet MLA A. Amarnath Reddy said two villages in his segment faced water problem.

Allah Bakash of Hyderabad gave a power point presentation on the drinking water and sanitation programme. Zilla Parishad CEO A.S. Venkataswamy, SE of Rural Water Supply Srinivasulu, DMHO Prasad, District Panchayat Officer Sobha Swaroopa Rani, mandal presidents Ajay Reddy, Sailaja and Rukmananda Reddy and ZPTC members Srilakshmi and Nagarjuna participated.