Special Correspondent

VISAKHAPATNAM: A number of top leaders and crowds of Telugu Desam Party workers and supporters were present when party candidate for the Visakha-I Assembly constituency by election S.A. Rehaman filed his nomination papers on Friday.

It was a show of strength by the party to rival the Congress show on Wednesday when its candidate, Dronamraju Srinivas filed his nomination papers.

Dr. Rehaman went to the MRO's office (urban) in Seethammadhara in a huge procession. TDP's Parliamentary Party leader, K. Yerrannaidu, P. Ashok Gajapathi Raju, Yenamala Ramakrishnudu, M.V.V.S. Murthi, K. Kala Venkata Rao, Ch. Ayyanna Patrudu, Bandaru Satyanarayana Murthy, Dadi Veerabhadra Rao, Pappala Chalapathi Rao, Ganta Srinivasa Rao, former MLAs, RSDPAN Raju and Palla Simhachalam, Bheemunipatnam Chairperson Koppula Prabhavathi, Majji Sundaram Patrudu, Zaheer Ahmed, Gudiwada Nagamani, former Corporators and division committee office-bearers and many other leaders were present.

It took about two-and-a-half hours for the procession to reach the MRO's office. Before Dr. Rehaman handed over two sets of nomination papers to Returning Officer M.B. Kameswara Rao at 1.15 p.m., his wife Shirin Rehaman filed two sets of nominations at an auspicious time of 12.02 p.m.

Earlier in the day, the election office of Dr. Rehaman was inaugurated in a building opposite Hotel Dolphin.