Delimitation has changed the geographical boundaries

MAHABUBNAGAR: A district known for perennial drought and migration of people in search of work has also become famous for rebel trouble. As many as four Congress rebel candidates have won in 2004 Assembly elections that should be a cause for worry for both Congress and Grand Alliance this time.

Though the number of Lok Sabha seats, Mahabubnagar and Nagarkurnool (SC) in the district remained unchanged at two, delimitation has changed the geographical boundaries. Alampur, Gadwal and Wanaparthy Assembly segments were taken off from Mahabubnagar Lok Sabha seat and attached to Nagarkurnool (SC) Parliamentary constituency. Shadnagar and Jadcherla were removed from Nagarkurnool and shifted to Mahabubnagar seat.

Pargi Assembly segment located in Ranga Reddy district that was part of Nagarkurnool Parliamentary constituency was removed from it and added to Chevella, a newly carved out Lok Sabha constituency.

Additional segment

In the case of Assembly constituencies, both the number and boundaries have undergone a change. The number has gone up from 13 to 14. While Amarchinta Assembly constituency has disappeared, two new segments have been created, Deverakadra and Narayanpet. Shadnagar, hitherto reserved for SCs, has been made general and Alampur reserved for SCs.

The delimitation of Parliamentary constituencies is expected to benefit Manda Jagannath, Congress candidate from Nagarkurnool (SC) constituency as his native village Kondair is now included in it making him a local candidate. Till now, he was branded non-local candidate. He represented Nagarkurnool as TDP MP till he switched over to the Congress.

In contrast, the delimitation has proved to be unlucky for TDP’s probable candidate A.P. Jitender Reddy from Mahabubnagar Lok Sabha seat as three Assembly segments Alampur,

Gadwal and Wanaparthy, in all of which he has considerable following, have been merged with Nagarkurnool Parliamentary constituency. The removal of Alampur and Gadwal is expected to benefit Congress MP, D.Vittal Rao from Mahabubnagar Lok Sabha seat as his relations with his party leaders in these segments are strained.


Migration of labour, corruption in construction of irrigation projects, misappropriation of funds in NREGP, irregularities in Indiramma housing scheme, diversion of Krishna waters to Rayalaseema by increasing the discharge capacity of Pothireddipadu head regulator and problems of RDS ayacutdars could be some of the issues to be highlighted by the Opposition. Besides, separate Telangana and categorisation of SCs could be main issues.