Staff Reporter

Felicitation for experts from different fields in the State

HYDERABAD: Distinguished scientist Kota Harinarayana, professor K.V.D Mallikarjuna Rao, journalist C.V. Rajagopala Rao and film artiste Ramaprabha have been selected for Dr. Ramineni Foundation Puraskarams 2008.

Announcing this at a press conference here on Saturday, Foundation member M. Chittaranjan said the awards would be presented on October 12, the birthday of Ramineni Ayyanna Chowdary at Hotel Taj Deccan in the city.

Noted businessman Dr. Chowdary, during his education in Minnesota University in 1958, founded the Hindu Association of Minnesota to promote Hindu culture and civilization. The Ramineni Foundation was established in 1999 in his remembrance to organise social activities and felicitate experts from different fields in the State.

Cash prizes

While, Mr. Kota Harinarayana was selected for the foundation’s Visishta Puraskaram, the others were selected for the Visesha Puraskarams.

Apart from felicitation, the awardees will be presented with a citation and cash prizes, he said.

In addition to this, 68 meritorious students and 8 head masters of different Zilla Parishad Schools in Guntur were conferred with Prathibha Puraskarams and Guru Puraskarams respectively this year. These awards were already presented, he added.