Staff Reporter

Zonal officer, police officer, video photographer to monitor process in each of 93 zones

New date to be announced for Kalichendu ZPTC following death of candidateSecurity to be tightened in 772 sensitive villagesCounting to be held in 13 centres on July 4

NELLORE: As many as 45 Zilla Parishad Territorial Constituencies (ZPTC) and 581 Mandal Parishad Territorial Constituencies (MPTC) will go to polls on July 2 to decide the fate of 1,632 aspirants.

One of 46 ZPTCs and 18 of 599 MPTC were declared elected unanimously while election to the Kalichedu MPTC of Saidapuram mandal was countermanded following the death of TDP candidate G. Syamasundera Reddy in a road accident.

"The State Election Commission will announce a new date for the Kalichedu ZPTC," District Collector M. Ravi Chandra told reporters on Tuesday.

"Unlike previous elections, voting is by secret ballot this time. And 14,73,831 voters -- 7,27,901 men and 7,45,930 women -- can exercise their franchise on July 2 from 7 a.m. to 5 p.m. at 2,013 different polling stations across the district."

Outlining security measures, the Collector claimed that tight security arrangements were made for the smooth conduct of the third ordinary elections to panchayat raj institutions in the district by forming 93 zones. Each zonal officer along with a police officer and video photographer would monitor the elections, he said.

"Moreover, security would be tightened particularly in 772 sensitive villages under different categories," he said.

"And no election propaganda or advertisements relating to policies and programmes of political parties will be permitted from 5 p.m. on June 30 to 5 p.m. on July 2. Besides, parties should not use the electronic media in any way during this prohibitory period for campaigning."

The Collector said that counting would be held in 13 centres -- Sullerpet, Naidupet, Vakada, Gudur, Venkatagiri, Atmakur, Podalakur, Nellore, Kovvur, Buchireddypalem, Udayagiri, Vinjamuru and Kavali -- on July 4 from 8 a.m. Results would be declared soon after the completion of counting votes, he added.

Zilla Parishad Chief Executive Officer Penchal Reddy and District Panchayat Officer K. Anand were also present.