Staff Reporter

KARIMNAGAR: The Congress party, which had suffered a setback in the recent ZPTC and MPTC elections, regained its lost glory in the gram panchayat elections with the party supporters winning from a majority of gram panchayats.

Against a total of 1,188 gram panchayats that went to polls in the district, the Congress supporters had won from 450 panchayats followed by the TDP with 364, the TRS with115, the BJP 43, the CPI 21, the independents 186 and the remaining by BSP supporters.

Minister for Sports M. Satyanarayana Rao had consolidated his base in Karimnagar Assembly segment with the Congress supporters winning from 41 out of a total of 55 gram panchayats in his jurisdiction.