15 persons belonging to Telugu Desam and Congress injured

96 candidates are in fray for ZPTCs and 1,166 for MPTCsCandidates for 10 MPTCs elected unanimouslySpecial arrangements made at 58 extremist-influenced areasHoliday declared for all educational institutions, business and industrial establishments on Wednesday

Vizianagaram: Pre-poll clashes between Telugu Desam Party and Congress cadres were reported from Kota Srilam and Ramabhadrapuram villages in Ramabhadrapuram mandal in the early hours of Tuesday. According to Ramabhadrapuram police, 15 persons of both the groups were injured and they were admitted to Salur Government Hospital for treatment. Intimidation of voters has reportedly led to the clashes, the police said. No one was arrested.

All set for polling

The Stage is set for the 13,05,235 voters (men: 6,32,611 and women: 6,72,624) to elect candidates for the 34 ZPTCs and 536 MPTCs out of 546 MPTCs in the district on Wednesday. In all 96 candidates are in fray for the ZPTCs and 1,166 for the MPTCs. Candidates for 10 MPTCs were elected unanimously after the withdrawal of nominations on Wednesday last. The district administration has arranged 1,767 polling stations and deployed 10,542 polling personnel.

Additional forces

The Superintendent of Police Vikram Singh Mann said in a release that additional forces from neighbouring districts were requisitioned and deployed at polling centres for smooth and peaceful conduct of polling. He said 2,260 police personnel were deployed, including two additional SPs, five DSPs, 17 CIs and 78 SIs.

Special arrangements were made at the identified 58 extremists-influence areas, he added. The administration has also announced holiday for all educational institutions, business and industrial establishments on Wednesday. Polling will begin at 7 a.m. and end at 5 p.m.