Staff Reporter

Flurry of activity at district collectorates on final day

  • Last date for withdrawal of nominations is Feb. 24
  • Support of aspirants throng towns in a big way

    ADILABAD: Three candidates, belonging to Congress, Telugu Desam Party (TDP) and Telangana Rashtra Samiti (TRS), on Thursday filed their nominations for the Legislative Council's local bodies' constituency from Adilabad district. Congress leader and Adilabad District Cooperative Central Bank chairman K. Premsagar Rao filed three sets of papers. TDP's Arigela Nageswara Rao also filed three sets of papers. Bharat Waghmare of TRS filed a single set of nomination papers.

    5 nominations in Medak

    Sangareddy: Only five candidates filed nominations for the election of Member of legislative Council (local bodies) with the Returning Officer here.

    Thursday being the last day for nominations, V. Bhupal Reddy of Congress filed his nomination. M. Yadagiri Reddy (TRS), Tenugu Satyanarayana and P. Narayana (independents) were the others to file nominations. Ch. Sangameswar (TDP) of Alladurg filed his nomination on Wednesday.

    MAHABUBNAGAR: Five candidates filed their nominations to contest for the single seat in Legislative Council from the local bodies in the district. A. Revanth Reddy, an independent candidate filed his nominations on Wednesday. On Thursday three candidates including Congress candidate and AICC member S. Jagadeeshwar Reddy filed their nominations.

    B-Form given

    NIZAMABAD: Four persons filed eight sets of nominations in the elections to Legislative Council from the Nizamabad local bodies' constituency on Thursday, the last day for the filing of papers.

    Congress nominee R. Venkatram Reddy filed his second set of nominations. He is the official candidate of the Congress and accordingly handed over the party B-Form.

    From TDP only one person Mohammad Shameem alias Shakeel of Bodhan filed his nomination. It was a simple affair as no senior leader or MLA from both the major political parties Congress and TDP attended the programme. The Returning Officer and Joint Collector G. Ramnarayana Reddy received nominations at his chamber.

    The Joint Collector later told The Hindu that scrutiny will be conducted on Friday and the last date for withdrawal of nominations is February 24. Including the two polling stations at the ZP Office here, a total of 38 stations would be set up in the district for polling.

    NALGONDA: Leading politicians in the district Nethi Vidyasagar of the Congress, Gaarlapati Niranjan Reddy of the Telugu Desam and Banda Narender Reddy of the Telangana Rastra Samithi filed their nomination papers for a berth in the Legislative Council as the representative of the local bodies. Nalgonda wore a new look as the supporters of the aspirants thronged the town in a big way.

    KARIMNAGAR: There was hectic activity in Karimnagar townfor filing of nominationswith the contesting candidates coming to file their nomination papers with much pomp and gaiety.

    In order to attract the attention of people, former MLC and senior politician of the district V. Jagapathi Rao took out a unique procession from SVJC College to the collectorate with graduates adorning gowns, caps and degree convocation certificates in a symbolic manner and filed his nomination papers from the Karimnagar graduates' constituency. Cultural troupe members also participated in the rally.