The party takes the step to ensure that ‘rebel' Telugu Desam legislators fall in line

Showing that it was serious about moving no confidence motion against the Kiran Kumar Reddy government, the Telugu Desam Legislature Party (TDLP) has decided to issue a whip to all its MLAs to vote in its favour.

Sources said the party was preparing to take on the government through the no trust move on farmers' issue and also see that the ‘rebel' MLAs fell in line. The whip has been faxed to the MLAs who are in a piquant situation as they have submitted their resignations but do not know the way forward. These MLAs include K. Harishwar Reddy, S. Venugopala Chary, Gampa Govardhan and Jogu Ramanna, all from Telangana, and Bala Nagi Reddy representing Mantralayam constituency in Kurnool.

While the first four legislators have resigned in support of separate Telangana, Mr. Balanagi Reddy has openly shifted his loyalties to YSR Congress president Y. S. Jaganmohan Reddy.

This was among the important decision taken at a meeting convened by TDP president N. Chandrababu Naidu with senior leaders of the party here on Friday after his return from Visakhapatnam.

Sources said the meeting felt that Mr. Naidu should go in appeal to the High Court against Y. S. Vijayamma's petition and he had agreed to do so on November 28. His family members too may follow suit.

To finalise strategy

A detailed strategy to counter the allegations, “all of which are old”, and take the government to task on its various omissions and commissions, would be finalised at the TDLP meeting likely to be held on November 30.

Meanwhile, Mr. Naidu decided to postpone his ongoing “Rythu Poru Bata” for a few days reportedly on security grounds. He was to visit Adilabad and Nizamabad on November 28 and 29.

  • Naidu to go in appeal to High Court against Vijayamma's petition on Nov. 28
  • “Rythu Poru Bata” to be postponed for a few days on security grounds