Pilla Vijaya Kumar, town Congress committee president, has been elevated to the post of DCC president. He has taken charge in the presence of the party leaders Botcha Jhansi Lakshmi, Rongali Pothanna and others here on Tuesday. Ms Jhansi Lakshmi said that APCC president Raghuveera Reddy has appointed Mr. Vijay Kumar after DCC president Kolagatla Veerabhadra Swamy quit the party and joined the YSRC last week. Mr. Vijay Kumar said that he was lucky to lead the party in the district during elections.

Counting of votes

Chief Executive Officer of Zilla Parishad N. Mohan Rao said that counting of votes polled for ZPTCs/MPTCs would begin at 8am on May 13 and results would be declared after the process is completed , he said in a release.

Kolagatla quits as MLC

Kolagatla Veerabhadra Swamy, former district Congress committee president and MLC, who joined the YSRC recently and contesting for Vizianagaram Assembly Constituency announced his resignation from State Legislative Council on Tuesday.