HYDERABAD: Resignations by MLAs from Telangana region cutting across party lines continued on Friday taking the total number of members who quit the post to more than 75.

While nine Telugu Desam MLAs sent in their papers to Assembly Speaker N. Kiran Kumar Reddy, at least five Congress MLAs tendered their resignations. Friday’s resignations have taken the total number of TDP MLAs who quit their posts to 38 and only Suman Rathore was yet to put in her papers.

Congress MLAs from GHMC area who remained undecided on the course of action to be adopted appear to have finally made up their minds. Five legislators -- D. Sudhir Reddy (LB Nagar), Akula Rajender (Malkajgiri), Bhikshapati Yadav (Serilingampalli), K. Raji Reddy (Uppal) and K. Srisailam Goud (Qutbullahpur) -- submitted their resignations in support of separate Telangana today.

The MLAs are learnt to have faxed their papers today as it was a holiday on account of Christmas and the Speaker was in Chittoor to attend local programmes there.