Twenty candidates remained in contention for the Guntur & Krishna Graduates' constituency of Legislative Council after Guntur District Collector and Returning Officer S. Suresh Kumar rejected the nominations of five candidates during scrutiny on Tuesday.

The candidates whose nominations have been declared invalid are V.V. Prabhakar Gandhi, Koneti Govinda Rao, M. Balakrishna, C.V. Panduranga Rao and S. Swapna.

Those who passed scrutiny are Chigurupati Vara Prasad (TDP) and Jupudi Ranga Raju (BJP). All other qualified candidates are independents.