35 villages to get Biodiversity site status in a month

Zaheerabad area would get such a recognition soon that will undoubtedly pitchfork Medak district in the national map.

Around 35 villages spread across four mandals – Jarasangam, Zaheerabad, Nyalakal and Raikode – would be declared as bio-diversity sites by the Andhra Pradesh Biodiversity Board in the next one month, announced Hampaiah Ralladoddi, Chairman, A.P. State Biodiversity Board, while addressing farmers at Algole on the occasion of 15th Biodiversity Festival organised by DDS.

Environmentalist and founder of APPIKO movement Panduranga Hegde called upon the farming community to protect seed sovereignty as it would be crucial for future.

“Various companies have been trying to take away your sovereignty on seeds and so you should be on guard. The fight for seed sovereignty may even lead to clashes among several nations,” he warned.

T.N. Prakash, Professor at University of Agricultural Sciences, Bangalore, said that crops grown here without using pesticides and insecticides were not only healthy, but protected the soil. DDS director P.V. Satheesh presided over the programme and Dr. Kalpana Sastry, Joint Director, National Academy of Agricultural Research Management and others were present.