The Markfed chairman’s post may also go the APCOB way with Congress party’s state leadership reportedly toying with the idea of dividing the five- year tenure into two and half years in wake of strong lobbying from the elected Marketing Society chiefs.

With four strong contenders for the top post, the Congress leadership, it is understood, may prefer via media solution to share the tenure among the Andhra and Rayalaseema leaders. Krishna DCMS chairman Kanchi Rama Rao, K. V. Satyanarayana Reddy (East Godavari), Nagi Reddy (Kurnool) and Sumanth Reddy (Nellore) are aspiring for the top post.

As the Congress leaders decided to appoint DCCB chiefs from Mahabubnagar and Karimnagar for the APCOB top post for 30 months each, the same formula also apply to Markfed also. It may be mentioned here that Veera Reddy and Ravinder Rao were named as the APCOB chairpersons for truncated term.

Names of Mr. Kanchi Rama Rao and Mr. Nagi Reddy are being heard as the possible candidates. Elections to the post of Markfed chairman will be held on March 4. Mr. Veera Reddy assumed office as the chairman of APCOB.