Congress candidates bag 32 seats, 13 go to TDP, two to TRS and one to CPI

Results important in backdrop of MRPS’ sustained agitation for categorisation of SCs

HYDERABAD: Perhaps for the first time, a good number of MLAs belonging to Madiga sub-caste among Scheduled Castes will be entering the portals of the Assembly.

Of the total 48 seats reserved for SCs, 22 have been won by Madigas and the rest by Malas. Congress candidates bagged 32 seats, while 13 went to the Telugu Desam, two were won by the TRS and one by the CPI.

While 14 of the winning candidates from the Congress were Madigas, seven were from TDP and one belonged to TRS.

Results noteworthy

These results are significant since the Madiga Reservation Porata Samithi (MRPS) has been running a sustained agitation for the past several years seeking categorisation of SCs for purposes of employment and education but the Supreme Court set aside a decision to this effect taken by the TDP Government. MRPS founder president Manda Krishna, who contested the election on his own after the TDP rejected his plea for seat adjustments, forfeited his deposit from the Madhira (SC) Assembly constituency where he polled 21,779 votes.

Nine of the newly-elected SC MLAs are women, including former Deputy Speaker G. Kuthuhalamma and Minister J.Geeta Reddy.

Among the nine women legislators, seven belong to Congress and two to Telugu Desam.

Congress show

Similarly, a majority of the newly created SC Assembly constituencies—five out of seven--went to Congress, while one each was bagged by the TRS and CPI.

It was a virtual Congress show as far as the Lok Sabha SC constituencies were concerned, with the ruling party winning six of the seven seats.

Except Chittoor, which went to the TDP, the Congress has taken Peddapalle, Nagarkurnool, Warangal, Amalapuram, Bapatla and Tirupati seats. While two seats went to Madigas, the rest were bagged by Malas.

Sarvey Satyanarayana, another Madiga leader belonging to the Congress, won the Malkajgiri Lok Sabha seat in general category.

Congress MLA from Tadikonda (SC) Manikya Vara Prasad said the election results had benefited the ruling party because the leadership had distributed tickets equally among Madigas and Malas.


Madigas demand ticket for Bapatla, TirupatiMarch 20, 2014