Rajulapudi Srinivas

Voting pattern upsets TDP, PR and Congress in different ways in Nellore

TDP strengthens its position in the district by winning five seats from one in 2004

Congress loses four sitting MLA seats including a Minister’s constituency (Venkatagiri)

NELLORE: Even as the leaders of Congress and Praja Rajyam (PR) who visited the district during campaigning claimed that they will win all seats in the district, Congress won in five out of ten Assembly segments and the Praja Rajyam settled with only one Assembly constituency.

Though the Telugu Desam Party strengthened its position by winning five seats (from one in 2004), the party district president and former Minister Somireddy Chandramohan Reddy has lost in Sarvepalli constituency.

The District Congress Committee and the local Ministers were confidence of winning all seats in the elections. But, the voters changed their expectations and the party lost four sitting MLA seats including a Minister’s constituency (Venkatagiri) in the district.

Praja Rajyam president K. Chiranjeevi, during a press conference before the elections, said the party allotted tickets for the right candidates in all segments and will win in the polls. Contrary to the expectations, PR has won only one seat with a slender margin of 90 votes.

Taking the blame

Expressing concern over the people’s verdict in Sarvepalli constituency, Mr. Chandramohan Reddy said that he has decided to quit from the president’s post and sent his resignation to the party.

But the newly elected MLAs requested Mr. Chandramohan Reddy to continue in the post. Kavali MLA Beeda Mastan Rao said it was his (Chandramohan Reddy’s) credit that the party has won five seats in the district and urged him to be in the post and guide them in a proper way. MLC and Praja Rajyam district convenor Mr. Bommireddy Raghavender Reddy submitted his resignation holding responsibility for the party’s defeat in the district. Except in Nellore Rural constituency, the party candidates stood in the third place in the polls and the competition was only between Congress and TDP candidates in the eight segments.

Congress corporator and party’s whip in Municipal Corporation of Nellore Mr. Sannapareddy Penchal Reddy resigned from his post owing responsibility for the poor majority to Congress candidate and sitting MLA Anam Vivekananda Reddy. Mr.Reddy has won in the elections with a majority of 3,131 votes against PR candidate Anam Venkataramana Reddy.

However, it is not clear whether the high commands of the three parties accepted the resignations or not.