‘Kiran promised to toe party line’

Special Correspondent
print   ·   T  T  

Digvijay faults the stand taken by Chandrababu Naidu and Jagan on Telangana issue

AICC general secretary AP affairs in-charge Digvijay Singh has expressed the hope that Chief Minister N. Kiran Kumar Reddy would respect the party high command’s decision on Telangana.

Addressing reporters in New Delhi on Wednesday, Mr. Singh said Mr. Kiran Reddy, during a telephonic conversation in the morning, had conveyed his reservations/objections to the party’s decision on bifurcation of the State. “But, he (Mr. Kiran Reddy) has assured that he will respect the decision taken by the leadership,” Mr. Singh said.

The senior Congress leader said he had enquired about the ongoing strike in Seemandhra region and its impact on the normal life with the Chief Minister. Mr. Kiran Reddy informed him that power supply to emergency services like hospitals and airports had been restored and efforts were on to convince the employees to call off their strike.

The Central government had taken the decision to bifurcate the State after holding elaborate consultations with all political parties and obtaining their written consent for the same. Asked about TDP president N. Chandrababu Naidu’s ongoing fast, he said he respected Mr. Naidu as a politician, but was unable to understand why he was undertaking the fast. On Mr. Jagan’s fast, he said he was unable to understand why YSRC president Y.S. Jaganmohan Reddy went back on his party’s stand on bifurcation. “He is like my son. I had a good rapport with his father late YS Rajasekhara Reddy.”

He said the Congress leaders from Telangana and Seemandhra conveyed their feelings in support of and against bifurcation respectively, but they had assured that they would abide by the party high command’s decision on the issue.

Coordination panel

Meanwhile, the AICC had reportedly announced constitution of a new coordination committee to monitor the party activities in the three regions and ensure effective coordination between the party and the government.


Its members include Mr. Digvijay Singh, AICC representative Tirunavukkarasu, Mr. Kiran Reddy, C. Damodar Rajnarsimha, PCC chief Botcha Satyanarayana and Union Minister K. Chiranjeevi. Former APCC president D. Srinivas, senior leader Mohd. Ali Shabbir and Union Minister Kavuri Sambasiva Rao who were members of the committee in the previous panel, have been dropped.

Jagan is like my son. I had a good rapport with his father late Y.S. Rajasekhara Reddy



Recent Article in ANDHRA PRADESH

Six clusters for imparting skills to students

Plan to develop 36 colleges into Centres of Excellence »