Okays transfer of over 150 degree colleges to Adikavi Nannaya University

The first meeting of Executive Council of Andhra University under the presidentship of new Vice-Chancellor G.S.N. Raju held here on Thursday, has taken no decision on ratifying the appointment of Rector and Registrar made by the VC in-charge in the past.

The EC meeting, which was attended by Principal Secretary (higher education) Ajay Mishra, Additional Secretary (Collegiate Education) R.M. Dobriyal, Rector of AU A.V. Prasada Rao, Registrar V. Umamaheswara Rao and Finance Officer K. Samrajyalakshmi ratified the appointment of Deans and other academic officials but decided to discuss the legal implications in ratifying the posts of Rector and Registrar, according to information available.

The EC also ratified the transfer of more than 150 degree colleges located in East and West Godavari districts and affiliated to AU to Adikavi Nannaya University in Rajahmundry.

Mr. Mishra, when the long-pending issue of filling up teachers vacancies was raised, assured the university officials to take up the matter with the Finance Department.

He also asked the AU to provide the number of teachers’ vacancies including a good number of posts of professors retiring soon and the vacancies in non-teaching cadre. Examination centre at the M.S.N. Education College in Vizianagaram was cancelled following large-scale malpractices witnessed in the college.

On taking action against former principal and professor of commerce and management of AU College of Arts and Commerce Balla Appa Rao, as directed by the Governor and Chancellor of the university, the EC decided to verify whether the committee which submitted its report to the Governor was constituted as per the guidelines of the Supreme Court.

Lifting of suspension on two teachers, C.V. Raman of Geology department and N.A.V. Prasada Reddy of AU UGC Academic Staff College was accepted by the EC.