G. Narasimha Rao

Aspirants make intense campaign

  • Sarma, Suran Naidu to fight it out
  • Chances bright for TDP's D. Veerabhadra Rao

    VISAKHAPATNAM: An intense and expensive campaign by some of the contestants was observed for the Legislative Council's graduates and teachers' constituencies of north coastal Andhra and local authorities constituency of Visakhapatnam district for which polling will be held on Saturday.

    The electorate might be small compared to a general election or even the just-concluded Greater Visakha Municipal Corporation but the campaign was almost on par. There were allegations that money and inducements were offered by some candidates.

    Congress rebel

    But the campaign for local bodies constituency (from which two candidates will go to the Legislative Council) was on a different footing because the number of electorate was just over 700 and the strengths of Telugu Desam and the Congress were clear and good enough to earn a seat each for the two parties.

    In spite of the "captive" vote bank, the Congress was not absolutely sure of its official candidate K. Sarveswara Rao romping home because a strong rebel in the shape of K. Kumara Phani Varma is in the fray. It is forced to hold camps to ensure success of its official candidate.

    While a keen race in the graduates and teachers constituencies is making it difficult to predict win for a candidate with certainty, it appears that TDP's former Minister Dadi Veerabhadra Rao will win one of the two seats from the local bodies constituency, the reason being there is no rebel to bother him from his own party and as the number of votes (MPTCs, ZPTCs and Municipal Councillors) his party is having is more than required.

    In the graduates' constituency, managing editor of Praja Shakti M.V.S. Sarma who is supported by CPI (M) is involved in a keen fight with a former professor of Andhra University Dharmana Suran Naidu who is elder brother Revenue Minister Dharmana Prasada Rao.

    Also fighting the battle with great vigour and enthusiasm were BJP's J. Prudhviraj, CPI's V.V. Rama Rao and P. Booth Tucker.

    Among contestants for the teachers' constituency, G. Simhadrappadu, Marpu Balakrishnamma and U.V. Narasimham belong to the old generation but were quite active in campaign.