Voters in 572 ZPTCs and 7,915 MPTCs to exercise their franchise today

Congress faces trouble in Medak and Adilabad Uphill task for party in Anantapur tooCongress banking on the lack of coordination between the TDP and CPI (M) in Nalgonda

HYDERABAD: Keen contests are awaited in many pockets in at least four districts - Medak, Adilabad, Anantapur and Nalgonda - in the first phase of elections to the local bodies on June 28. The other districts that are going to the polls along with these are East Godavari, Kadapa, Karimnagar, Krishna, Kurnool, Prakasham and Vizianagaram.

Voters in 572 ZPTCs and 7,915 MPTCs will exercise their franchise on Wednesday. Five ZPTCs and 353 MPTCs have already been bagged unanimously, mostly by the ruling party. There are 2,129 candidates in fray for the ZPTCs and 23,000 candidates for the MPTCs in these 11 districts.

Trouble for Congress

The ruling party could have had it easy in Medak had its alliance with the Telangana Rashtra Samithi were to work well. But the refusal of the Congress MLAs to arrive at an understanding despite the APCC's efforts has brought the TDP, CPI, CPI(M) and the TRS together in some ZPTCs causing concern to it. In Narsapur constituency, for example, the Congress finds all its allies pitted against it. Rebel trouble is dogging the party in several constituencies in the district.

In Adilabad too, the Congress is faced with a dilemma with its local leadership remaining out of focus compared to the main Opposition, the TDP. This is one district where the TDP has retained its strong presence among all the Telangana districts.

Uphill task

Anantapur is another district where two Ministers, N. Raghuveera Reddy and J. C. Diwakar Reddy, are sweating it out to ensure the victory of their respective candidates.

Reports suggest that the Congress nominees are facing an uphill task in Nallamada (Cong), Gorantla (Cong), Hindupur (TDP), Kalyanadurg (TDP), Penukonda (TDP), Uravakonda (TDP), Rayadurgam (TDP) and Gooty (Congress) Assembly segments out of 13.

In Nalgonda, the Congress-TRS-CPI alliance is giving a tough fight to the TDP-CPI (M) combine in many constituencies, including Miryalguda and Nakrekal held by the Marxists. The Congress is banking on the lack of coordination between the TDP and the CPI (M) in the district despite the serious differences among its own MLAs.