Union Minister for Rural Development Jairam Ramesh and Chief Minister N. Kirankumar Reddy are going to launch the Direct Benefit Transfer (DBT) scheme from Vajrakutam village of Gollarpolu mandal on Sunday. East Godavari is one among the 20 districts in the country that were selected for the launch of the DBT on a pilot basis. The Ministers will launch the DBT in Indira Jalaprabha, social security pensions and the Mahatma Gandhi National Rural Employment Guarantee Scheme.

Of the 4,44,640 social security pension beneficiaries from the district, Aadhaar enrolment has been completed for 3,99,772 beneficiaries. Under the MNREGS, 6.23 lakh job cards have been issued in the district, benefiting 2.95 lakh families. Arrangements have been completed for launch of the programme at Gollaprolu mandal.

East Godavari is one of the 20 districts in the country selected for launch of the scheme on a pilot basis