A. Saye Sekhar

Eight of the party’s Lok Sabha candidates have their spouses or siblings in the fray

Botcha scores a hat-trick with wife and his brother getting party ticket

YSR’s son Jagan and Venkatswamy’s sons Vivek and G. Vinod in fray

HYDERABAD: It’s all in the family for several contestants in the Congress – be it for Lok Sabha or the Assembly. At least eight of the party’s Lok Sabha candidates have their spouses or siblings in the fray in the Assembly elections. What’s more, 13 of them have family lineage that worked to their advantage.

If it can be called so, Minister Botcha Satyanarayana scored a hat-trick with his wife, Jhansi, being nominated from Vizianagaram Lok Sabha constituency, while his brother Appala Narasaiah got Gajapathinagaram Assembly ticket. The Minister himself was nominated from Cheepurupalli Assembly constituency which he is currently representing.

Y.S. Jaganmohan Reddy, son of Chief Minister Y.S. Rajasekhara Reddy, is being fielded from Kadapa Lok Sabha constituency, as Dr. Reddy’s younger brother, Vivekananda Reddy, opted out of the race. Perhaps, this is the lone father-son combination from the Congress side in the simultaneous elections.

Party veteran and Peddapalli MP G. Venkatswamy withdrew in favour of his younger son Vivekananda, while his elder son and Minister G. Vinod is seeking re-election from Chennur (SC) Assembly constituency in Adilabad district.

Nalgonda MLA and party nominee Komatireddy Venkat Reddy got the ticket for his brother K. Rajagopal Reddy for Bhongir Lok Sabha constituency. Mekapati Rajamohan Reddy and his brother Chandrasekhara Reddy were nominated from Nellore Lok Sabha and from Udayagiri Assembly constituency.

Daggubati Venkateswara Rao will seek a re-election from Parchur Assembly constituency, while wife Purandeswari is transferred to Visakhapatnam from Bapatla. Similarly, Kotla Suryaprakash Reddy and wife Sujatamma will contest again from Kurnool Lok Sabha and Dhone Assembly seats respectively. Union Minister Panabaka Lakshmi was chosen for Bapatla Parliamentary constituency and husband P. Krishnaiah will make his debut in the battle for Gudur (SC) Assembly seat.


Mallu Ravi (Jadcherla)-Bhatti Vikramarka (Madhira); Anam Ramanarayana Reddy (Atmakur)-Vivekananda Reddy (Nellore Rural); Dharmana Prasada Rao (Srikakulam)-Krishna Das (Narasananpet); are all pairs of brothers who jumped into the fray.