Three scientists of the National Geophysical Research Institute (NGRI) were recently presented the National Geoscience Awards-2009 for their contributions by Vice-President Hamid Ansari in Delhi.

The scientists who received the awards are Syed Masood Ahmad, M. Ravi Kumar and D. Venkat Reddy.

According to a press release, Dr.Ahmad, Scientist ‘G' working in paleo-climate research group, has generated several new climatic records from the North Indian Ocean and the Indonesian seas.

Dr. Ravi Kumar, Scientist ‘F' has made significant contributions towards development of modern and innovative techniques in the field of seismology.

Dr. Venkat Reddy, Scientist F, working with paleo-seismology group has contributed significantly in the field of groundwater.