The Labour Department has notified nine festivals and National Holidays under the Shops and Establishments Act, 1988.

The National Holidays are: Republic Day, May Day, Independence Day, Gandhi Jayanthi and AP Formation Day. The festival holidays are: Kanuma on January 15, the day following Maha Sivarathri (February 13), Vinayaka Chavithi September 11 and Nagula Chavithi on November 9.

All establishments and shops in Srikakulam, Vizianagaram and Visakhapatnam have to be closed on these days, according to Joint Commissioner of Labour S. Lakshminarayana.