The High Court on Monday stayed two G.O.s issued by the State Government to merge 21 villages into limits of Rajahmundry Municipal Corporation (RMC). It has to be recalled that government recently issued G.O.94 and 99 to de-notify 21 Gram Panchayats for inclusion into RMC.

The two GOs were challenged by Nakka Rajababu, former Sarpanch of Rajavolu Gram Panchayat on the outskirts of Rajahmundry through a Caveat petition in the High Court by Nallamilli Siva Reddy, Advocate of High Court.

Mr. Reddy contended on behalf of his client that the merger of 21 panchayats into RMC will be a big blow to the letter and spirit of MGNREGS which is benefiting hundreds of farm labourers in the villages covered under these Panchayats. He argued that the labour will loose livelihood if the scheme is not in force during the merger process. The petitioner also contended that about eight Panchayats have passed resolutions against the merger into RMC and these resolutions were not taken into account.

The 21 panchayats which were included in RMC include Katheru, Namavaram, Kolamuru, Velugubanda, Palacherla, Rajanagaram, Lalacheruvu, Narendrapuram, Pidimgoyyi, Venkatanagaram, Chakradwarabandham, Nidigatla, Hukumpeta, Gadala, Satellite city, Madhurapudi, Bommuru, Thorredu, Dowleshwaram, Burugupudi, Rajavolu. However, the Diwancheruvu Panchayat is not included as its’ matter is already pending in High Court.