The Telugu Desam Party is upbeat over the results of the first phase of panchayat elections. TDP leaders have attributed the victory to their president N. Chandrababu Naidu’s walkathon.

Addressing a press conference on Wednesday, TDP State official spokesperson Nannapaneni Rajakumari said there was a strong tide in favour of the TDP if the first phase was to be considered. The Telugu Desam would romp home in the next two phases also. The Congress had dug its own grave by pursuing “anti-people policies,” she said.

The TDP demanded that the government conduct mandal, zilla parishad, and municipal elections immediately. People would teach a befitting lesson to the Congress, and the TDP would bag majority of the seats, she said.

At another press conference, Mylavaram MLA and TDP district president Devineni Umamaheswara Rao released the list of sarpanches who won with the support of the TDP.

He dared the Congress and the YSR Congress to release their lists. The TDP-backed candidates won 135 panchayats in the district, he said. Machilipatnam MP Konakalla Narayana Rao said development came to a grinding halt during the last 9 years. Former MLC Y.V. B Rajendra Prasd, district vice-president Garimella Nanaiah Chowdary, and urban general secretary Kotteti Hanumatha Rao were present.