The sarpanch candidates backed by the main opposition Telugu Desam Party have won in the Sarpanch post in 163 gram panchayats in the second phase of the local body elections in Kandukur division of Prakasam district.

The YSR Congress was closely behind the main opposition party with its village-level leaders winning the coveted post in 142 Gram Panchayats, relegating the Congress party to third position with its candidates successful in 119 villages.

While the Communist Party of India(Marxist) bagged the post in Peridepi Gram Panchayat, independents accounted for the key post in the grassroots level democracy in 50 villages, accounting for the 475 local bodies at stake.

While the TDP performed extremely well in the local bodies in Darsi and Kandukur Assembly segments, the YSR Congress had an advantage in the Gram Panchayats forming part of Markapur Assembly segment. The Congress party’s performance was good in Kanigiri Assembly segment.