Former TDP MLA to join Congress

print   ·   T  T  
All Smiles: PCC president D. Srinivas with TDP leader Satish Pawar in Nizamabad on Saturday.
All Smiles: PCC president D. Srinivas with TDP leader Satish Pawar in Nizamabad on Saturday.

D. Satish Pawar was also party in-charge for Nizamabad

NIZAMABAD: Former MLA and Telugu Desam Party in-charge for the Nizamabad (Urban) constituency D. Satish Pawar will join the Congress party in the presence of Chief Minister Y.S. Rajasekhara Reddy and the Pradesh Congress Committee president D. Srinivas at Gandhi Bhavan in Hyderabad on Monday.

He announced his resignation to the TDP and faxed papers to the party leadership. He said he took the decision as he felt insecure in the party. Despite working hard to strengthen the party, his services were ignored all these years, he said adding that he was talking to his followers and some more were likely to quit the party in coming days.

Mr. Pawar was the municipal chairman during 1987-92 and MLA from TDP from 1994 to 1999.

He used to be a close follower of Mr. Srinivas in Congress before contesting from TDP and defeating him. At a luncheon meeting at the residence of Mr. Pawar here on Saturday both the leaders announced Pawar’s joining the Congress.

The MP Madhu Goud Yaskhi, District Congress Committee president G. Gangadhar, city Congress president A. Purushotham Gupta, Dayanand Gupta and D. Surender, PCC secretary and younger brother of Mr. Srinivas attended.

It is believed that Mr. Pawar’s switching over his loyalties to Congress will tilt the political balance in the urban constituency as he is the TDP floor leader in the Municipal Corporation and has influence among North Indian community and Muslim minorities in the town.



Recent Article in ANDHRA PRADESH

Astra missile successfully test-fired again

Its performance in different engagement scenarios evaluated »