Five candidates including three independents have filed nominations for election to Guntur and Krishna districts’ Graduates constituency of the Legislative Council on Thursday.

They are Chigurupati Varaprasad of Telugu Desam Party from Vijayawada, Jupudi Ranga Raju of Bharatiya Janata Party from Guntur, S.B.S.R. Sarma (independent from Guntur), Gangisetti Uma Sankar (independent from Vijayawada) and Y. Murali Krishna Naidu (independent from Vijayawada).

The last date for filing nominations is February 4 and the election is scheduled to take place on February 21, according to a press release by the District Collector and Returning Officer S. Suresh Kumar. Mr. Chigurupati Varaprasad is the sitting MLC representing Guntur & Krishna districts. Each one of the candidates has ten proposers as required by the election rules and filed affidavits in Form-26.