Arrangements have been made for the conduct of polling on Thursday for the biennial elections to six seats of the State Legislative Council spread over 14 districts.

About 17,000 police personnel have been stationed and live webcast of the polling process arranged at 1,437 polling stations.

Polling will take place from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. but those standing in the queues at polling stations will be facilitated to cast the votes. Counting of votes will be taken up on February 25 and the results announced on the same day.

Proportional representation

Of the six constituencies, three are earmarked for graduates -- East Godavari-West Godavari, Krishna-Guntur and Medak-Nizamabad-Adilabad-Karimnagar. The remaining three are teachers’ constituencies--Srikakulam-Vizianagaram-Visakhapatnam, Warangal-Khammam-Nagonda and Medak-Nizamabad-Adilabad


Chief Electoral Officer Bhanwarlal told reporters here on Wednesday that 6.32 lakh voters, all enrolled graduates and teachers, will exercise their franchise by indicating their preferences in one-two-three, etc order under the principle of “proportional representation by means of single transferable vote” towards the names of the candidates printed on the ballot paper.

They will indicate the preferences with violet sketch pens kept with the presiding officers as prescribed by the Election Commission.

84 nominees in fray

In all, 84 candidates are in the fray, 65 of them in the graduates constituencies and 19 in the teachers’ constituencies.

The CEO appealed to voters in East Godavari-West Godavari graduates’ constituency not to cast votes in favour of A. Durgaprasad, an independent, who had died.

Voters can ascertain whether their names are on the rolls or find out the location of their polling stations by accessing the websiste


Live webcast of polling process arranged at 1,437 polling stations


Ready for elections, says CEOMarch 25, 2014